what i think

What I Think: The Changes from season 1 to season 2

Shadowhunters Season 2 has just begun production in Toronto (FINALLY!!) and the cast and crew has been hard at work to make this season better than the last one. There are many changes happening on the show and fans have been stating  their opinions about it. Is it good? Is it bad? Many have weighed in.

Some say it’s good! They like that the runes are darker and more closer too the books. They like that Cassie is working closely with the writers. But others aren’t singing the same praises. Since this segment is called “What I think” I’m going tell you what I think.

First of all, let me just say that I am writing this post at 4:50 am so my thoughts and writing is a bit all over the place so bare with me. I’m going to break my thoughts down into parts.

The New Runes: 

So in season 1 we got different kinds of runes. Some were dark, some were red, and some were faded. While they may have been different from the books I liked them. I liked how they showed, like any scar, how they age. From red, because they are fresh, to blackish grey because they have settled and have become part of the Shadowhunter, then finally to a faded scar where you can hardly see the color but you know that it is there. I liked the season 1 runes and I don’t understand why they have to change it. I get it, they are listening to the fans, and some fans want this show to be exactly like the book (Why should it? It’s a adaptation it’s not suppose to be like the books exactly) from the runes, to the characters.But I think being apart from the book is a good think. 

Don’t take this as me hating on the new runes. I like them, but I just prefer the old ones.

The exit of Ed Decter:

I don’t really have much to say about this. Because I don’t have full information on it. But I think it was his choice wether it was because he thought it was time for him to go (he’s been here since the movie. He’s been here through the process of getting the book adapted to a show so I don’t really know why he left) some say it was because he and Cassie had some differing opinions on how the show should go (IMO; Cassie has given up her rights to the TMI and TID when it comes to media format so…) and since Cassie was signing on as a consultant to the writers, I think Ed just thought it was better if he exited. I will miss you Ed 😦

On the new show runners:

If you don’t know what a showrunners is they are basically in charge of the creative responsibility of the show. From the character arcs to where the story goes next. (If you want more info on Todd and Darren check out Tinaliatum post about them.  

I’m so exited!! Our new showrunners, Todd Slavkin and Darren Swimmer, both have wonderful credits under their belts like Smallville, Syfy’s Dominion and Alpha (both CGI heavy shows) so all I can say is that the cgi with be on a whole new level! I’ve see a few episodes of smallville and I was honestly pleased with it for a show in the early age of the 2000 (well not early early but you get my point) it was good in its special effects and storylines. So I’m not worried with the new showrunners. I’m kind of excited on what they are going to do.
Cassie’s involvement:

I glad she’s going to be involve with the show more. I won’t go into details on my full opinion on this but all I can say is that I hope that she just sticks to being a consultant to the writers and showrunners. I want this show to be separated for the books. But if she can help smooth out the kinks they by all means. But I would rather like the writers to have their own ways of writers because we already know the books, I want to see a different take on this story.

2 thoughts on “What I Think: The Changes from season 1 to season 2

  1. Hi there! I’m not really informed about season two, so reading your post was very interesting, also because I like how you write. It’s clear, sliding and pleasant, so…good job!
    I totally agree with you about the runes, I’m going to miss the old ones 😦 but I’m happy that Cassie Clare will work with the cast, she’s a great artist and I’m sure that she won’t permit the show to become a stupid soap opera or something.
    Till the next post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

